Public Hearings

Public Hearings: 27 April – 15 May 2023

The purpose of these public hearings was for the Yoorrook Justice Commission to question Victorian government ministers, senior bureaucrats and the Chief Commissioner of Victoria Police about the administration of the child protection and criminal justice systems.


Adam Reilly
Andrea Davidson
Argiri Alisandratos
Chief Commissioner Shane Patton
Commissioner Meena Singh
Dr Tamar Hopkins
Eleanor Williams
Joshua Smith
Kate Houghton
Katherine Whetton
Larissa Strong
Marian Chapman
Raylene Harradine
Ryan Phillips
The Hon. Anthony Carbines MP
The Hon. Enver Erdogan MP
The Hon. Jaclyn Symes MLC
The Hon. Lizzie Blandthorn MP
View Evidence

Date: 27 April - 15 May 2023

Topic: Child protection system

Topic: Criminal justice system

Public Hearings: 5 to 9 December 2022

The purpose of these public hearings were to hear from Aboriginal leaders working in child protection as part of Yoorrook’s inquiry into the harm done to First Peoples by unjust laws and practices within this system.


Aaron Wallace
Ashley Morris
Aunty Charmaine Clarke
Aunty Eva Jo Edwards
Aunty Glenys Watts
Aunty Hazel Hudson
Aunty Jill Gallagher
Aunty Muriel Bamblett
Aunty Rieo Ellis
Commissioner Meena Singh
Dr Jacynta Krakouer
Felicia Dean
Ian Hamm
Karinda Taylor
Kimberley Do
Lisa Thorpe
Magistrate Kay Macpherson
Shellee Strickland
Stacey Brown
Tracey Dillon
View Evidence

Date: 5-9 December 2022

Topic: Child protection system